Recycled

Crafty Coffee On Ice

Hey craftcravers,

I know it has been way too long since my last post. The summer is fully underway. Which means, yes iced coffee on the go!!!!

Traveling the humid subway one morning, running late I did not have time to grab a cup of coffee. Dying for a cup of iced coffee a wonderful idea came to mind inspired by a fellow passenger!! A gentleman with a backpack sitting next to me, reached into his bag and pulled out a glass mason jar filled with a black liquid.

Although this frightened me into thinking, about the “see something say something” campaign brought on by the mta, I was intrigued. The young man opened the jar and a strong whiff of coffee came flooding from the jar! AH HA!

Shortly after my fearful experience with said jar I realized the true potential of the mason jar!

For a busy girl like me I always want coffee in the morning and never remember to make it. Or even wake up with enough time to put make up on for that matter.
I possess all the luxuries that allow coffee-making fast and easy, however in the summer the last thing I want is hot coffee. No offense to those who enjoy a hot cup of Joe in 90 degree subway heat, but there must be a better way.
I have a keurig, I have the little pods that a meant for on the go cups, and I have mason jars. I think we are getting some where here.

TIPS

Maybe a part of me loves the south but I feel everything tastes better from a mason jar! Including iced tea.

Sundays are the best day to get ready for the week.

Brew enough coffee for a few days

If you Have a keurig just make 5 pods- if you have a traditional coffee maker I would say 2 pots would do.

Stack 5 jars in fridge on Sunday and you are ready for the week!

I would add ice, milk and sugar the day of since over time milk can act a bit funny and separate from your coffee.

The best part of the mason jar over those plastic reuseable cups, is that they WILL NOT SPILL!!

Those reusable cups yellow over time and are not dishwasher safe at times.

How many times have you felt good getting on the train, with your home-made cup of coffee, to find one bump in from the guy next to you and your coffee is now all over you!

The cool part about this idea is you can be really creative with glass paint and decorate your jar to make it unique. Dishwasher safe and spill proof!! Try it!!

I found a link from the Decoist.com with wonderful ways of decorating Jars!

One thought on “Crafty Coffee On Ice

  1. Since your grandfather “invented” ice coffee, it is natural that you take it a step further. Since I live in Texas, where the mason jar is at home, I need to try this one. Good to have you back.

Leave a comment